April 16, 2017


May 12th will be released via Despotz Records, the debut album "The End Is Nigh" by APOCALYPSE ORCHESTRA.

The debut album "The End Is Nigh" was recorded during the second half of 2016, the drums at Studio Overlook by William Blackmon (producer of Gadget, Beardfish, Isole among others) while all other instruments were recorded by the band at Studio Bordun. A live choir was also recorded at the historic Sailors Church in Gävle. It was then mixed by Per Nilsson (Scar Symmetry/Kaipa) at Studio Kabyss and mastered by Fredrik Groth at Studio Flåklypa.

The album features original compositions and lyrics with a heavy medieval flare, but also contains actual melodies hailing back as far as the 12th century. With the hurdy gurdy, bagpipe, cittern, lute, mandora and several other traditional instruments the ambience is set from start. Clashing with a modern sound the combination is unique. Lyrical themes ranges from everyday toils of the common man in the dark ages, onwards to art, science and literature, all the way to otherworldly views of existence.

01. The Garden of Earthly Delights
02. Pyre
03. Flagellants' Song
04. Exhale
05. Theatre of War
06. The Great Mortality
07. To Embark
08. Here Be Monsters

"The End Is Nigh" album can be pre-ordered under various bundles.


No comments:

Post a Comment

You can comment this article with your Google account, or Wordpress, Aim, OpenID...